MTELP Series

The MTELP Series by CaMLA is designed to measure both learner achievement and progress. It is suitable for adult or young adult language learners and can be used appropriately in a range of institutions:

  • IEPs in institutions of higher education
  • ESL/EFL schools and training programs
  • Governmental agencies
  • Private corporations

The paper-based MTELP Series is only available in the USA and Canada.

The MTELP Series is available at three distinct levels of proficiency: Level 1 (beginner), Level 2 (intermediate), and Level 3 (advanced) with three forms (D, E, F) for each level.

Beginner Intermediate Advanced
Item Types • 25 listening items
(picture- and question-response)
• 15 grammar items
• 11 vocabulary items
• 9 reading items
(short, ad-style passages)
• 25 listening items
(dialogues and monologues)
• 10 grammar items
• 10 vocabulary items
• 15 reading items
(text-only passages)
• 22 listening items
(dialogues and interviews)
• 7 grammar items
• 8 vocabulary items
• 8 cloze items
• 15 reading items
(text-only passages)
Total Number of Items 60 60 60
Administration Time 50 minutes 50 minutes 50 minutes
# of Parallel Forms 3 3 3

Sample Items

Sample items are available for Level 1Level 2, and Level 3.

How to Use the MTELP Series

The MTELP Series is designed for use as an exit (achievement) and progress test. Teachers, program administrators, and supervisors will be able to use MTELP Series test scores to make a range of informed decisions. These decisions may include exit testing from an intensive English program, progress within a multilevel ESL program, and work assignments in occupational settings where English language proficiency is required.

MTELP Levels

If your institution uses the CaMLA English Placement Test (EPT) for placement purposes, you can select the most appropriate level of the MTELP Series based on CaMLA EPT scores.

Suggested MTELP level based on CaMLA EPT scaled scores
CaMLA EPT (Forms D, E, F, G, H, I) Scaled Score Range Suggested MTELP Series Level (Forms D, E, F)
0–34 Level 1
35–60 Level 2
61–80 Level 3

Potential users of the MTELP Series should also look at the sample items to check which level’s test content is most appropriate for your situation. You may also contact us directly at to get personalized advice on the needs of your institution.

The Difference Between the CaMLA EPT and the MTELP Series

The CaMLA EPT should be used to stream ESL learners into similar ability groups. It is designed to be used with learners whose proficiency level is unknown. The CaMLA EPT will efficiently place these learners into level-appropriate classes.

The MTELP Series has been designed for use after a period of instruction with learners whose approximate proficiency level has been determined. The test items on the MTELP Series forms are level appropriate. That means that all the test content on a test form of the MTELP Series is specifically targeted at beginner, intermediate, or advanced learners depending on the level used. So, the CaMLA EPT test forms contain test items across a broad range of proficiency levels while the MTELP Series test forms contain test items at a focused level.

Are CaMLA EPT scores and MTELP Series scores linked?

Yes, they are. The MTELP Series administration manual explains how the scores are linked and the relationships between the scores on the two tests. This information will help users gauge learner progress over time.

More about MTELP levels and score interpretation

Test Format and Administration

There are 60 questions on all MTELP Series test forms, regardless of the level. Each test form takes around 50 minutes for the test itself to be completed. Proctors need to allow additional time for administrative procedures (approximately 10 minutes to distribute and collect test materials and to read directions). All test directions are scripted and given in the administration manual.

Test Scoring

Purchasing institutions score their tests. The test package contains reproducible answer sheets and a scoring stencil. The test can be scored quickly, easily, and at the convenience of the purchasing institution. Scores are reported to test takers on a one-hundred point scale based on a score conversion table provided in the administration manual. It is possible to administer the test, calculate scores, and report them back to learners within one working day.

Using Parallel Test Forms

The three test forms within each level of the MTELP Series are parallel forms of the test. This means that each of the test forms has unique content; there are no shared items across the three test forms. However, the three forms at each level have been set at the same level of difficulty.

Parallel forms help users maintain test security, because different forms can be used at random while maintaining the same level of measurement and score meaning across administrations.